Dante Alighieri Society of Denver

Join us to

learn the language
celebrate the culture
savor the food


Scholarship Information

The Dante Alighieri Society of Denver annually awards scholarships to deserving college students attending institutions in the Denver metropolitan area and in northeastern Colorado to advance their study of Italian language, music, and art in Italy.

Scholarship applications for 2020 are open. Please click on the appropriate button below to fill out the application.

For any additional information, contact Pamela P. Marcantonio, Co-Chair of the Scholarship Committee.


The Board of Directors of the Dante Alighieri Society of Denver wishes to thank the following individuals who generously contributed to the 2019 Scholarships as of April 30, 2019.

Joe  Adducci

Barbara Amato

Wayne Ambler

Anthony Andrews

Vera  Buffaloe

Idamae  Casagranda

Dr. Mario & Anna  Coringrato

Alexandra Cunevalis

Janice DeLuzio

Greg & Suzanne  Fasing

Dr. Frank J. & Mary Giardino

Dr. Frank W. Giardino

Dr. John C. & Erin Giardino

Veronica Goodrich

Joe Holeman

Rhonda Hopkins

Leslie Karnuskas

King Soopers Rewards Program

Virginia Linkus

Camilla  Marcantonio

Pamela & Gianfranco  Marcantonio

Carol  Marsala

Joseph  Mauro

Dr. Nicholas & Judith Napoli

Gloria Patrona

Rosanna Patrona-Aurand

Elena Ramer

Dr. John E. & Ami Sadler

Antonio & Susanna  Saurini

Rosalie  Spicola

Michelle Stone Kraus

Mark Thompson

Roberta & Leonard Waldbaum

Tonia Williams


To these and anyone we may have inadvertently omitted, our sincere thanks for your generous contributions to the Scholarship Fund.

The Dante Board of Directors

2019 Academic and Music Scholarship recipients:

On Sunday May 5, the annual Scholarship Awards Luncheon took place at the Arvada Center for the Arts and Humanities. The nearly  forty people in attendance enjoyed the opportunity to interact with our scholarship winners, a breathtaking violin performance from our music scholarship winner and a sumptuous meal. A heartfelt “Thank You” goes out to all who have contributed to the Dante Scholarship Fund.  This most important part of the Society could not continue without your support.

2019 Scholarship Recipients

2019 SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS   From left to right: Dr. John Giardino, President of the Dante Alighieri Society of Denver; Ingrid Anderson (CU, violin), music scholarship for Siena; Elizabeth Strickland (CU, piano) music scholarship for Piobbico; Janeth Mancha (DU) academic scholarship for Perugia; Lauren Johnson (DU) academic scholarship for Florence; Melissa Beherer (CU) academic scholarship for Perugia; Katherine Ellis (CU) Giulio Marcantonio Memorial academic scholarship for Perugia; Rosanna Patrona-Aurand, Music Scholarship Chair; Grace Stringfellow (CU, oboe and voice) music scholarship for Siena; Dr. John Sadler, Scholarship Chair


Our scholarship winners for 2018 are the following: Gian Aurand, from Metropolitan State University, received the Giulio Marcantonio memorial scholarship and will be going to the University of Torino. Rebecca Leyva-Hernandez, from  Metropolitan State University, will be studying at The Lorenzo de’ Medici International Institute in Florence, Italy. Seth Bixler, from the University of Colorado in Boulder, received the Vincent and Gay Taglialavore scholarship and will attend the Siena International Music Program.  Grazie to chairpersons John Giardino and Rosanna Patrona-Aurand, and the scholarship committee.

Scholarship ceremony 2018

2017 Academic and Music Scholarship recipients:


Pictured Left to right...

Madison Sleyster (CU Boulder), Celeste Landy (CU Boulder, Music), Rosanna Patrona Aurand (Music Chair), Denisse Romero (DU Taglialavore Scholarship)), Melissa Zinanti (Metro), Maisie Karlin (DU), Meghan Dulsky (Giulio Marcantonio Scholarship), President Veronica Goodrich, John Giardino Scholarship Chairman.

2016 Scholarship Winners

2016 Academic and Music Scholarship recipients

Pres. Veronica Goodrich, Scholarship Committee Chair Dr. John Giardino, Josephine Carochi (Metropolitan State Univ. of Denver), Ansel Rothstein-Dowden (Univ. of Colorado, Boulder), Jade Espina (Univ. of Colorado, Boulder), Scholarship Committee Accompanist Rosanna Patrona-Aurand, Kayla Nanto (Univ. of Northern Colorado), Preston Adams (Univ. of Northern Colorado)

2016 Vince and Gay Taglialavore Scholarship recipient
Vince and Gay Taglialavore with Ansel Rothstein-Dowden


2016 Giulio Marcantonio Scholarship recipient

Camilla Marcantonio with Josephine Carochi


Connect With Us

Mailing Address:

Dante Alighieri Society of Denver
3510 Broadlands Lane, #102,
Broomfield, CO 80023


Mount Carmel Parish Hall
3549 Navajo Street
Denver, CO

Dante Alighieri Society Denver, CO

Where We Meet

© 2019 Dante Alighieri Society of Denver in Denver, CO